Happy Indigenous Murders Day: Black-on-Black Discussion About Flag Burning

What to do today? Burn an American flag? Go out to Walmart with the UNIA Flag wrapped around my body? Or should I be subtle, and walk around in chains? What would my ancestors do if they lived to see this celebration of hypocrisy?

This was my Facebook status today. And with this, I will let you in on the discussion that follows between some good friends of mine:

My good (conservative, military) friend from high school, Drew replies:

Burning the flag? Smh, if u don’t like america, u could move to africa. I think ur going about this completely wrong tho, and that’s really f****d up, honestly.
And so, I reply:

Martin Luther King, Jr, Rosa Parks, Jesse Jackson, Homer Plessy, Dred Scott, Sojourner Truth, Malcolm X, Harriet Tubman, Marcus Garvey, Medgar Evers, Frederick Douglass, Ruby Bridges, Linda Brown and COUNTLESS OTHERS didn’t like America’s injustices against US and because of those people educating others and speaking out about their grievances (as given to them by the 1st Amendment) YOU were able to go to one of the best high schools in the United States without segregation, YOU were able to take a desegregated bus to school and now YOU are able to join the military and become a pawn for the government and tell me, like rednecks in backwoods say all the time, that if I “don’t like America (I could) move to Africa”. And I think it’s pretty F***ed up that you would say that to me, because I deserve to live here. My ancestors made this country what it is, the global powerhouse that has destroyed the lives of millions worldwide because of invasion and deception. I would be doing a disservice to my country to leave in it this condition. I would equally be doing it a disservice to gallantly wave a flag around that has so much blood on it. I will not allow myself to be assimilated into the masses of people of color who forget what we have done to make America better, without putting on a uniform and without ousting others to other countries because they don’t agree with our foreign and domestic policies.

Drew replies:

Listen long story short, u don’t deserve to live here if ur gonna burn the american flag. Its unecessary. Same as if u were canadian, u don’t deserve to live there if ur gonna burn canada’s flag. U feel that strongly about changing stuff to the point u would burn a flag(which would make u look like a fool, and not change anything), go start ur own country. Ur no better than the aryans who wipe their feet on israel’s flag right now. Or terrorists who burned flags before they killed those CIA ppl stationed on that base in iraq by the informant. That’s disrespectful to everyone who has died for this country, and on independence day????? Are you serious? Ur other ideas aren’t bad at all, but burning a flag is ridiculous, and I think anyone who does that doesn’t deserve to live here or have any rights at all. Simple as that.
And so, I reply:

Pause lil daddy. Texas v. Johnson (1984) and United States v. Eichman (1990), the “supreme court” ruled that the burning of the flag was protected expression under the First Amendment. And let me ask you this, militia man, what is the proper way of disposing of an old American flag? Burning it.
US Flag Code. TITLE 4 > CHAPTER 1 > Sec. 8(k). “the flag… should be destroyed in a dignified way, preferably by burning.”
So context doesn’t really matter. I can burn this crappy flag I have here are look regal in the eyes of your government, but if I’m not American, well then of course, I’m a terrorist. LOL!
Drew replies:

Its protected expression, but its fucked up. In certain situations its necessary, and protocol. But the way ur talking about? Nah, dead ass wrong…….like I said, u wanna burn a flag for the wrong reasons, u don’t deserve to live here. And u can always leave….nobody is holding u here. One should have pride in their country, instead of wanting to burn the flag. That’s just a dickhead move.
In context idiot…it really does matter. Ur a fool, “your government”, like its not yours also…..this is like a terrible episode of the boondocks. I wish I could laugh but its sad.
And so, I reply:

“I wish I could laugh but its sad.” Finally a statement we both agree with. This is Angela Davis talking to Clarence Thomas. Maybe even Joe the Plumber. I don’t know which one is worse.

I’ll be updating this throughout the conversation. Stay tuned…

About this entry