Nigga (A Poem)

I welcome you back, Nigga

I say nigga lovingly and smile while you stand in a daze thinking if you will be that one Black sista who

calls me out because

Nigga, nigga I thought you was down, don’t go to college and think you too good to come back to the

hood and be what you always was with ya black ass

Look at yo hair you aint passin for anything else but a

Nigga, yeah I said it. Imus was so right when he called yall hos

Cuz that’s what yall are, see, you wanna be educated and fall in line with yo

New York Times readin ass I remember the time you were known to beat ass

Bitches stepped and got wet yeah back then you was that

Nigga, now you just a figure of what you said you’d never be,

Sippin lattes at Starbucks and talking white, pressing clothes and fightin?

You aint did it in years but I know when you hear that base jumpin in some

Niggas hoop you fight that urge to be that nigga you are,

That nigga who switched hips and threw fits and started shit

Who slapped a bitch and then smacked her lips

You were always the shit to me but out the blue you leave and come back with

Blue books and soft looks, not the fear that once shook

Niggas. You know afta you get them papers, degrees

You still the nigga, the bitch that your soul was pleased being

The culture of ghetto is trapped within

And your Janet and Jim can still see yo skin, so

Nigga, how you ever gonna leave a nigga behind?

About this entry