No Longer a Teen… Damn.

I do not feel any joy on this day…

Today, I am 20 years old. It’s a sick realization…

I am too old to sulk in the ignorance of a teenager… too old to seem innocent and cute…

I am…. too young to do any real gambling, or drink…

I never understood that. What is the point of being 19-20?

At 18, you can finally have sex with everyone 18 and older, get a credit card (that will RUIN YOUR LIFE) and get (stupid) tattoos and piercings without parental permission (ew). More importantly, you can sign into (bad) contracts, sue (bad) people, get charged (unfairly) as an adult for crimes (you didn’t commit), change your (wack) government name, vote (like it counts), enlist in the (corrupt, terrorist-run) military and smoke (your life away)!

At 19, you’re already $2000 in debt from credit cards.  *sigh*

At 20, you are just being tortured. Only 365 days away from being an acceptable lush.

Honestly, it’s not the fact the point that I can’t drink. Of course, people do. But to me, turning 21 will be the moment when I can say “no,” because I just don’t want to. The day I can get that over 21 discount on the club entrance fee and not throw back my saved dollar or two on a Corona. Maybe I’ll take advantage of the free water from the cooler, not because it’s the only thing I can drink, but because I want water. I can get that free sip of wine at the Olive Garden and throw my ID out with trying to “act” older (but I guess I kind of look it…ugh). I want to be that “friend” every 20 years old wants to stay cool with so when they want alc, I can say, “uhhh, I don’t know, __________, have you taken AlcoholEdu?”

So, do not congratulate me on making it here. I’ve only been alive for 7,300 days. I have 365 more to go before we celebrate. Soberly.

About this entry