The Scientific Method Kicks ASS Over Religious Thinking

Scientific thinking poses questions on the development of humanity, the start of the world itself, and the present and future state of nature. Those topics encompass every question that we could have about life, many in which have been answered. Yes, the answers do change due to more study on a subject every once in a while, but we must remember that the world is changing all around us, so the answers change respectively. I would rather change my actions based on science than live life based on a book that hasn’t changed in centuries.

Even things as abstract as love, emotion, and creative thought have been explained well by science. These are things that concern me, and I am satisfied by the amount of information explaining things that I felt were neither religious nor scientific. Still, science can only go so far into explaining how a man feels towards a woman. But it goes farther that religion ever will.

Religion addresses questions that only religious people care to answer. “How do you get into heaven?” The answer would be, “By following God’s word.” “What is God’s word?” The answer? “The Bible.” “Who wrote the Bible?” I’m probably the only person who would ask this question, being non-religious, but what would be the answer to this question? Probably, “The men who God chose to spread his word.” The questions that the religious would ask are so roundabout, that anyone who challenged their religion would have a hard time finding a definite answer! This is why they follow blindly! If they questioned it, they would have no reason to believe.  I don’t think that religious thinking can address matters of who is going to be rewarded or punished in the afterlife. As we spoke about in class, religious people continue to have to make up stories to support their stories, and their story about who is to be rewarded or punished is backed by their construction of heaven and hell. Do these things exist? Who is to be sure? Their answer would be, God lives in heaven and the Devil reigns in hell. How can there not be a place for these two beings to live? The questions and fabrications just pile up on top of each other.

I don’t think that all religion thinking is bad, but I do feel that none of it is necessary. People use religion as an excuse for change, for example, a recovering drug addict. An addict did not find God and pray for change. An addict realized that family was avoiding him or her, or that they were slipping at their job because of their addiction, and the only way to keep what they longed for was to quit. That method is scientific. I don’t pray to get new car and BOOM! a new car appears because God loves me. I get a good job, save up, and buy the car I want. That is I creating a plan for success. No matter how “holy” I am or how fundamentalist (which means “bad” in my mind) I may be, neither way of thinking helps me to achieve in life.

About this entry